That Warm Fuzzy Feeling

Friday Fictioneers sponsored by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields at Addicted to Purple

5th June, 2015

Photo Prompt – © C. Hase

PHOTO PROMPT - © C. Hase

“Mommy, what’s that?” she asks, pointing at the rusty old anchor chain.

Should I give her the usual rational explanation?

I didn’t.

“Sweetheart, you know that warm fuzzy feeling when a puppy looks at you, a baby suddenly flashes a gummy smile, a horse trustingly lifts its hoof so you can remove that stone? The chain represents that feeling. It’s called Love. Timeless, eternal, yet strong enough to keep you anchored at all times.”

Her small hand links with mine, as we both turn and look at Love. Ruggedly beautiful against the backdrop of jagged rocks, rough seas, pristine sands.

____________

Word Count: 100

It’s my Birthday on 5th June.

As I look back on the last 43 years of my life, I know it’s love that has kept me anchored, no matter how stormy the seas.
I dedicate this piece to my 12 year old daughter and my husband.

19 thoughts on “That Warm Fuzzy Feeling

Tell me what you're thinking

